SHARP DeLong Book History Book Prize 2018

SHARP annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Owing to the generosity of the DeLong family in endowing the prize, from 2004 it has been known as the George A. and Jean S. DeLong Book History Book Prize.

Submissions are now open for the 2018 Prize.

All submissions must be in English and must have been copyrighted in 2017. (Translations of works originally copyrighted earlier are eligible, but the translations themselves must have been copyrighted in 2017.) Because the purpose of the prize is to honor the work of an individual scholar or of scholars working closely together writing a jointly-authored monograph, collections of essays, reference works, and bibliographies and other collaborative projects are not eligible and will not be considered. If you are unsure whether a title would be eligible, please use the contact details in the next paragraph to check before sending copies.

Submissions must be in the possession of all members of the jury by Wednesday 31 January 2018. Please submit four print copies of each entry, one to each member of the jury (addresses below). Please send an email to Claire Squires, SHARP Director for Publications and Awards ( to confirm that you have submitted your title(s).  General queries regarding the prize should be directed to the same email. Please note that copies of books are non-returnable.

Details of past winners and commended titles are available at


Janine Barchas (chair of judge)
Department of English, Calhoun Hall 226
University of Texas at Austin
204 W. 21st Street; Stop B5000
Austin, TX 78713

Fritz Levy
1176 Alexander place, N. E.
Bainbridge Island, WA 98110

Kristina Lundblad
Department of Arts and Cultural Sciences
Division for Book History
LUX, Lund University
Box 192
S-221 00 Lund

Dot Porter
Kislak Center
Sixth Floor, Van Pelt Library
3420 Walnut St
Philadelphia, PA 19104

If you require phone numbers for courier delivery, please contact Claire Squires (