DeLong Book History Prize

SHARP annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Owing to the generosity of the DeLong family in endowing the prize, from 2004 it has been known as the George A. and Jean S. DeLong Book History Book Prize. Previous winners include Kristina Lundblad’s Bound to be Modern (Oak Knoll Press, 2015), Daniel Wakelin’s Scribal Correction and Literary Craft: English Manuscripts 1375-1510 (CUP, 2014), Paula Rabinowitz’s American Pulp: How Paperbacks brought Modernism to Main Street (Princeton University Press, 2014), David McKitterick’s Old Books, New Technologies: The Representation, Conservation and Transformation of Books since 1700 (CUP, 2013), Helen Smith’s ‘Grossly Material Things’: Women and Book Production in Early Modern England  (OUP, 2012), and Barbara Hochman’s “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” and the Reading Revolution: Race, Literacy, Childhood and Fiction, 1851-1911 (University of Massachusetts Press, 2011).

Details of the 2018 prize submission process are available here: http://www.sharpweb.org/main/activities/

Contact details

SHARP/DeLong Book History Book Prize
Professor Claire Squires
Director of Publications and Awards, SHARP
University of Stirling, Scotland, UK
Tel:+44 (0)1786 467505
publications@sharpweb.org

Oxford University Press
Alyssa Russell Marketing Manager
Academic/Trade Marketing
Oxford University Press
alyssa.russell@oup.com 001 212 743 8268

Dr Eva Mroczek
UC Davis USA
emroczek@ucdavis.edu

Yale University Press
Anne Richardson
anne.richardson@yale.edu

Professor Jonathan G Alexander
NYU, USA (Emeritus)

Cambridge University Press
Lauren Simpson
lsimpson@cambridge.org

Dr Noah Millstone
University of Birmingham, UK
N.C.Millstone@bham.ac.uk 

This Year’s Winner (2017)

Eva Mroczek, UC Davis, USA, The Literary Imagination in Jewish Antiquity (Oxford University Press).

Highly Commended (2017)

Jonathan G Alexander, Emeritus Professor at NYU in the US, for The Painted Book in Renaissance Italy, 1450 – 1650 (Yale University Press).

Noah Millstone of the University of Birmingham in the UK, for Manuscript Circulation and the Invention of Politics in Early Stuart England (Cambridge University Press).