DeLong Book History Prize

About the DeLong Prize

SHARP annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Owing to the generosity of the DeLong family in endowing the prize, from 2004 it has been known as the George A. and Jean S. DeLong Book History Book Prize. Previous winners include Eric White, curator of rare books at Princeton University Libraries, USA, Editio Princeps: A History of the Gutenberg Bible (Brepols, 2017), Eva Mroczek’s The Literary Imagination in Jewish Antiquity (Oxford University Press, 2016), Kristina Lundblad’s Bound to be Modern (Oak Knoll Press, 2015), Daniel Wakelin’s Scribal Correction and Literary Craft: English Manuscripts 1375-1510 (CUP, 2014), Paula Rabinowitz’s American Pulp: How Paperbacks brought Modernism to Main Street (Princeton University Press, 2014), David McKitterick’s Old Books, New Technologies: The Representation, Conservation and Transformation of Books since 1700 (CUP, 2013), and Helen Smith’s ‘Grossly Material Things’: Women and Book Production in Early Modern England  (OUP, 2012). Details of the 2020 prize submission process are available here.

Contact details

SHARP/DeLong Book History Book Prize
Dr Melanie Ramdarshan Bold
Director of Awards, SHARP

Yale University Press                                                          Brent Nongbri
Debra Bozzi                                                             
Educational Marketing Manager
Yale University Press

Cambridge University Press                                                  David McKitterick
Bethany Thomas, Hollie Hopkins and Chris Burrow     

Cambridge University Press                                                  Adam Smyth
Hollie Hopkins and Chris Burrows                               























This Year’s Winner (2019)

Brent Nongbri, Professor, MF Norwegian School of Theology, Religion and Society, Norway and Honorary Research Fellow, Department of Ancient History, Macquarie University, Australia, God’s Library: The Archaeology of the Earliest Christian Manuscripts (Yale University Press)

Highly Commended (2019)

David McKitterick (University of Cambridge) for The Invention of Rare Books: Private Interest and Public Memory, 1600–1840 (Cambridge University Press)

Adam Smyth (University of Oxford) for Material Texts in Early Modern England (Cambridge University Press).