SHARP DeLong Book History Book Prize 2021

SHARP annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Owing to the generosity of the DeLong family in endowing the prize, from 2004 it has been known as the George A. and Jeanne S. DeLong Book History Book Prize.

Submissions are now open for the 2021 Prize.

All submissions must be in English and must have been copyrighted in 2020. (Translations of works originally copyrighted earlier are eligible, but the translations themselves must have been copyrighted in 2020). Because the purpose of the prize is to honour the work of an individual scholar or of scholars working closely together writing a jointly-authored monograph, collections of essays, reference works, and bibliographies and other collaborative projects are not eligible and will not be considered. If you are unsure whether a title would be eligible, please use the contact details in the next paragraph to check before sending copies.

Submissions must be in the possession of all members of the jury by Friday 15th January 2021. Please submit four print copies of each entry, one to each member of the jury. Publishing representatives should send an email to Melanie Ramdarshan Bold, SHARP Director for Awards ( and Ellen Barth, SHARP Executive Assistant ( for the judges’ addresses (and phone numbers, if necessary) and to confirm that you have submitted your title(s). General queries regarding the prize should be directed to the same email. Please note that copies of books are non-returnable.

Details of past winners and commended titles are available at