SHARP DeLong Book History Book Prize 2022

SHARP annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Owing to the generosity of the DeLong family in endowing the prize, from 2004 it has been known as the George A. and Jeanne S. DeLong Book History Book Prize.

Submissions are now open for the 2022 Prize.

All submissions must be in English and must have been copyrighted in 2021. (Translations of works originally copyrighted earlier are eligible, but the translations themselves must have been copyrighted in 2021). Because the purpose of the prize is to honour the work of an individual scholar or of scholars working closely together writing a jointly-authored monograph, collections of essays, reference works, and bibliographies and other collaborative projects are not eligible and will not be considered. If you are unsure whether a title would be eligible, please use the contact details in the next paragraph to check before sending copies.

Submissions must be in the possession of all members of the jury by Friday 14th January 2022. Please submit six print copies of each entry, one to each member of the jury and administrative team. Please send an email to Ellen Barth, SHARP Executive Assistant ( for addresses (and phone numbers, if necessary) and to confirm that you have submitted your title(s). General queries regarding the prize should be directed to the same email. Please note that copies of books are non-returnable.

The members of this year’s jury are:

Daniel Bellingradt

Kinohi Nishikawa

Susan Pickford

Jennifer Richards

Details of past winners and commended titles are available at