The ECR Coffeehouse: a Workshop for Early Career Researchers in Book History

SHARP would like to invite you all to the virtual event The ECR Coffeehouse: A Workshop for Early Career Researchers in Book History on 21 October 2020 at 11am–12.30pm (PDT) / 2–3.30pm (EDT) / 7–8.30 PM (BST) / 8–9.30 PM (CEST).

The event will take place on Zoom. Please follow the link to register:
https://wwu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMvfu2grDosGtyht8iKmYK4iLIbBVhK4c99

Finishing a PhD is a big feat in itself. But ECRs also have to consider their career options in an increasingly challenging economic climate. After their PhDs, some book historians might choose to pursue postdoctoral teaching or research positions, whereas other might apply their skills and knowledge in fields such as librarianship or publishing. Others might follow different paths altogether.

Aimed at current PhD students, those who have recently completed their PhDs, and anyone who considers themselves to be an ECR, this SHARP Coffeehouse brings together three speakers who will talk about their respective experiences of transitioning from being a PhD student to postdoctoral scholar, librarian, and independent scholar:

Ann-Marie Hansen is a Radboud Excellence Postdoctoral Fellow at Radboud University, Nijmegen, the Netherlands, working on Early Modern print and intellectual culture. Following on from her PhD at McGill University, she has held research and teaching positions at the universities of St Andrews, Toronto, Rennes and Utrecht.

Henning Hansen is Senior Academic Librarian at the University Library at The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø, where he acts as subject librarian for History, Archaeology, Literature, and Classical studies. He also lectures in book history and methodology and is the rare books and map curator.

Marie Léger-St-Jean is a freelancer, a digital humanist, and proud independent scholar working on nineteenth-century transnational transmedia mass culture. She is the founder of and mastermind behind Price One Penny, a bibliographical and biographical database about the countless publishers and authors involved in the production of cheap literature in London from the 1830s to the 1850s

Following on from this, there will be plenty of opportunity for participants to talk about their experiences, share knowledge and provide perspectives. We will also use this event to think about how SHARP can do more as an organisation to support ECRs working on book history.

The event is organised by SHARP Executive Assistant Ellen Barth, Recording Secretary Vincent Trott and Director of Transnational Affairs Jan Hillgärtner.