SHARP Book History Book Prize

The SHARP Book History Book Prize (formerly the DeLong Book History Book Prize) annually awards a $1,000 prize to the author of the best book on any aspect of the creation, dissemination, or uses of script or print published in the previous year. Recent past winners include Kathy Peiss for Information Hunters: When Librarians, Soldiers, and Spies Banded Together in World War II Europe (Oxford University Press, 2020), Jeffrey T Zalar for Reading and Rebellion in Catholic Germany, 1770-1914 (Cambridge University Press, 2019), and Brent Nongbri for God’s Library: The Archaeology of the Earliest Christian Manuscripts (Yale University Press, 2018).

Submissions are now open for the 2023 Prize

Publishers are invited to nominate books in or related to the field of book history. All submissions must be in English and must have been copyrighted in 2022. (Translations of works originally copyrighted earlier are eligible, but the translations themselves must have been copyrighted in 2022). Because the purpose of the prize is to honour the work of an individual scholar or of scholars working closely together writing a jointly-authored monograph, collections of essays, reference works, and bibliographies and other collaborative projects are not eligible and will not be considered.

Submissions must be in the possession of all members of the jury by Friday, 13th January 2023. Please submit six print copies of each entry, one to each member of the jury and administrative team. Email Ellen Barth, SHARP Executive Assistant, for addresses and to confirm that you have submitted your title(s). General queries regarding the prize should be directed to the same email. Please note that copies of books are non-returnable.

The members of this year’s jury are:

Daniel Bellingradt
Kinohi Nishikawa
Susan Pickford
Jennifer Richards

Contact details

SHARP Book History Book Prize
Dr Melanie Ramdarshan Bold
Director of Awards, SHARP
University of Glasgow, UK

Ellen Barth

This Year’s Winner

Elizabeth McHenry, Professor of English at New York University, for To Make Negro Literature: Writing, Literary Practice, and African American Authorship
(Duke University Press, 2021)

Elizabeth McHenry

Duke University Press
Emily Lawrence

Highly Commended

Margaret Meserve (University of Notre Dame) for Papal Bull: Print, Politics, and Propaganda in Renaissance Rome
(Johns Hopkins University Press, 2021)

Margaret Meserve

Johns Hopkins University Press
Kathryn Marguy